Police Department

police deptIN CASE OF TORNADO WARNINGS...
THE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH WILL BE OPEN TO SEEK SHELTER AS WELL AS THE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL.

City of Meriden, KS - Police Department

 public.coderedweb.com/CNE/BFB7774A914A

Use this link to sign up for a free telephone based warning system for severe weather to all Jeff County residents.

About 1-866-MUST-B-21

1-866-MUST-B-21 is a toll-free tip line. It is operational 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Here’s what happens when you call:      

  • You will be prompted to enter a number corresponding to your state, “1” for Kansas or "2" for Nebraska.
  • Next, you will be connected to the appropriate state police dispatch center.
  • The dispatch operator will determine your location and the nature of the suspected violation, and then transfer you to the appropriate law enforcement agency or, if necessary, will take your information and relay it.

Calls are anonymous if you choose.

How You Can Help 

  • Save the number to your phone
  • Call right away if you see or suspect underage drinking

Underage drinking is a problem you can do something about

dare-logo

dare_seal_lg

 

www.dare.org/kids/

www.alcoholfacts.org/DARE.html

 

 

 

 

The City of Meriden will allow fireworks to be shot off

June 27th - July 4th. Sunday through Thursday 8:00am - 10:00pm,
Fridays & Saturdays 8:00am - midnight

 

Meriden Police Department
Phone (785) 484-3377
Fax (785) 400-6029

Chief of Police
Jason Boyer
jboyer@meridenks.com or nodopers@yahoo.com

Jefferson County Sheriffs Department
jeffersoncountykssheriff
Dispatch (785) 863-2351

*************************************************************************************************

City of Meriden, KS - Police Department

Consequences of Underage Drinking

  • School problems, such as more absences and poor or failing grades.
  • Social problems, such as fighting and lack of participation in youth activities.
  • Legal problems, such as arrest for driving or hurting someone while drunk.
  • Physical problems, such as hangovers or illnesses.
  • Unwanted, unplanned and unprotected sexual activity.
  • Disruption of normal growth and sexual development.
  • Physical and sexual assault.
  • Higher risk for suicide and homicide.
  • Alcohol-related car crashes, injuries such as burns and falls, and drowning.
  • Memory problems.
  • Abuse of other drugs.
  • Changes in brain development that may have life-long effects.
  • Death from alcohol poisoning. 

Source: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Read statistics from the CDC about underage drinking

 

Legal Consequences in Kansas

Underage drinkers face legal consequences like fines, suspension of driver's license, community service and even time in jail. Adults who furnish alcohol to minors or host parties also face serious repercussions. Read below for an overview of Kansas' alcohol-related laws:

1. Minor in Possession and/or Consumption

No person under 21 shall possess, consume, obtain, purchase or attempt to obtain or purchase alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverages except as authorized by law.• Fines up to $500
• Up to 40 hours community service license
• A suspended license for 30 days up to a full year
For more information, refer to KSA 41-727.

2. Fake/Borrowed Identification

It is unlawful to:
Display or have in possession fictitious or altered driver’s license/state I.D.
Lend any driver’s license/state I.D. to any other person
Reproduce a driver’s license/state I.D.
• Not abiding by the law can result in fines up to $1,000 as well as one year in jail.
For more information, refer to KSA 8-260.

3. Zero Tolerance for Minors and DUI

It is illegal to operate or attempt to operate a motor vehicle with a breath or blood alcohol content of .02 or above. The limit for drivers over 21 is .08.
• Driving privileges suspended for up to one year
For more information, refer to KSA 8-1567a.

4. Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

Directly or indirectly, selling to, buying for, giving or furnishing any alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to any minor is illegal.
• Minimum $200 fine
For more information, refer to KSA 21-3610.

5. Hosting Minors

Unlawfully hosting minors consuming alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverages at a person’s residence, land, building or rented room is illegal.
• Failing to abide by the law can result in a minimum $1,000 fine, as well as one year in jail.
For more information, refer to KSA 21-3610c.

6. Preliminary Breath Test

A law enforcement officer may request a preliminary breath test if the officer has reasonable grounds to believe that person has been drinking alcohol.
For more information, refer to KSA 8-1012.

7. DUI: First Offense

It is illegal to operate or attempt to operate a motor vehicle with a breath or blood alcohol content of .08 or above.
• Up to six months in jail
• Community service
• Driver’s license suspended up to one year, plus additional restricted driving
• Substance abuse treatment
For more information, refer to KSA 8-1567.

8. DUI With Child Under 14 Years of Age

The punishment for a person convicted of DUI while transporting a passenger under the age of 14 shall be increased by one month of imprisonment.
For more information, refer to KSA 8-1567.

9. Ignition Interlock

Convicted DUI offenders may be restricted to operating only those vehicles that are equipped with an ignition interlock device. To start the vehicle, the driver must blow into a handset that tests the driver’s breath for the presence of alcohol.
• An ignition interlock device will stop drunk driving. When alcohol is detected, the car won’t start.
• Driver is required to retest, as long as car is in motion.
For more information, refer to KSA 8-1567.

10. Vehicle Impoundment

State law mandates that operating or attempting to operate a motor vehicle while impaired is a crime. All offenses may result in impoundment or immobilization of a vehicle for up to one year.
For more information, refer to KSA 8-1567.

 

 

 

 www.1866mustb21.com/

 

 

Underage drinking is a serious problem.
It’s illegal. And it’s dangerous.

Fortunately, there are resources available to help us prevent tragic consequences for teens, their friends, families, and drivers on our roads and highways. One important resource is 1-866-MUST-B-21. This toll-free tip line is an easy way to notify law enforcement when you see or suspect underage drinking in your community.

What to Report

1-866-MUST-B-21 (1-866-687-8221) is the number to call if you …
  • Know about a party involving underage drinkers, ideally before it starts.
  • Know of someone with a reputation for giving alcohol to or buying alcohol for underage youth.
  • Know of someone with a reputation for selling alcohol to underage youth.
  • Suspect underage drinking in your neighborhood: at a house party, at a park, in a field — anywhere